Skip to content

Did You Follow Up?

August 4, 2009

Following up in the music business is important. Many people involved in this industry are very busy. They have their Blackberry’s going all the time.

If you’ve emailed a few times but haven’t received a response that doesn’t mean that you’re not important, or that the recipient didn’t want to help you out. You probably got lost in the shuffle. Don’t take this apparent lack of progress as a reason to quit. Too many people do just that. I know I have. Persist through it. Be that squeaky wheel. Definitely respect the other person’s time, but if you want to be noticed, you’ll probably need to follow up, follow up, follow up, follow up, etc.

There are no rules for following up with music industry folk. It’ll depend on what you want to do.

  • Are you booking a tour?
  • Are you looking to get your music reviewed?
  • Are you looking to establish some new contacts?

In every case, as well with every person, the rules will change.  It will take some time to find out what works, but keep at it. Following up is my new mantra. Follow up today, see results tomorrow!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2009 2:24 pm

    So true. Great post guys. Rings a lot of the same bells I was aiming for with a similar post I made on the ArtistData blog a few months ago. http://www.artistdata.com/us/blog//articles/71/1/You-have-to-follow-through/Page1.html

    Thanks for continuing to bring attention to this.

    Brenden

  2. August 6, 2009 1:00 am

    Thanks for the resource Brenden. It’s weird how I can never hear that piece of advice enough.
    -Voyno

  3. Atul Rana permalink
    August 7, 2009 4:36 am

    I liked your post Brenden and even decided to post one of our songs to you. Derek Sivers puts this idea out the best. “Persistence is polite”. I find it hard to draw the line between what I feel like is nagging too much and being persistent. I err on the side of not nagging 🙂 but I think when you put it like this, it is almost vital to be persistent with the follow up. Thanks for the advice guys.

  4. August 10, 2009 7:13 pm

    I could not agree more to this post. As Music Supervisor for Commericals, my world moves pretty fast. A job comes in and I have a few days to get music to my client. In a sea of muisc – top of mind never hurt anyone. I can tell you that timing is everything. If you do a Music Sup on the phone, dont ask them, “hey you working on anything?” That will make me want to get off the phone immediately. Instead engage me in a conversation and give me a reason to REMEMBER you. Great post.

Trackbacks

  1. Start Planning Your Spring Tour Now « The New Rockstar Philosophy

Leave a Reply

