Skip to content

Embrace Writer’s Block

June 22, 2009

Writer’s block is a scary thing for creative types like you and me. It means the end of inspiration, the end of that spark that creates worlds, and, if you’re like a lot of people, it can cause you fear and panic.

Yet writer’s block is very normal. You can’t be go, go, go, forever or you’ll burn out. And burning out is typically much worse then writers block. Burn out sometimes means that you never come back to music, or to writing, again. So don’t be afraid of writer’s block. Don’t fight it, don’t curse it, don’t worry about it.

The best thing you can do during times of writers block is to use that time, instead of it using you. Take that “blocked” time to go over songs you’ve started but never finished, lyrics that had something, but never became fully realized, or refine the songs you’ve already got going.

Or maybe forget about music for a while, tie up other loose ends in your life, or simply live your life with the knowledge that; you are creative, you make music, and you will find your muse again. Chill Winston.

Get The NewRockStarPhilosophy eBook My Friend. It’s FREE!

Take Control of Your Music

Voyno

Tweet This Tweet This

Bookmark and Share

The New Rockstar Philosophy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jimmi toro permalink
    June 23, 2009 7:31 am

    Yes. Or try learning a new instrument. For me some songs are born off the piano, others off the guitar, or a drum beat, or just in my head or from a trumpet riff I heard. I can also push through creative blocks by immersing myself in another style I typically don’t listen to much like jazz, big band, etc. wondering what a rock version of a jazz sax riff may sound like.

  2. June 25, 2009 5:59 am

    Learning new songs and rediscovering old ones works for me. I was asked by my band to re-write a second verse to a song thats gonna be on our next record. So my writes block has been in full effect but I love challenges and I know I will see light at the end of the tunnel eventually. Write re-write write again.

Leave a Reply

