Skip to content

Give Me One Great Song

April 27, 2009

That’s all I want. One song. One great song and you have my attention, my ear, and my time.

Many artists focus on making an “album.” Like you have so much to say. So much great, amazing music, that you can produce 12 flooring tracks. I don’t think so. I haven’t heard an album that was mind blowing from front to back in. . . years, decades maybe.

So why do so many artists choose to make an album? Is it an artistic expression? Is it because that’s just what “real” artists do? Is it because their fan base demands it?

Korn was the impetus for this post. Korn is releasing not one, but two albums this year. Korn has been around for at least 10 years, and it was around a decade ago they had their last huge hit. That hit put them on the headlining spot for many big festivals. But since the days of Freak on a Leash I have nary heard a peep from them. True, I don’t float in the angst music circles anymore but a great song transcends genres. That’s what I’m looking for a genre-less song. I don’t care where it comes from, I just want to hear one great song.

Take Control of Your Music

Voyno

Tweet This Tweet This

Bookmark and Share

The New Rockstar Philosophy

Sign Up For The New Rockstar Philosophy RSS Feed

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 28, 2009 1:52 am

    That’s so true. It’s awesome how one great song can turn you on to whole genres, even.

Leave a Reply

