Skip to content

Gavin Rossdale and Hardcore Fans

April 17, 2009

So I’m out for a beer with a buddy from school who I haven’t seen in awhile.

I haven’t met another human being who’s as hardcore a Gavin Rossdale fan as this guy.  Ever since the Sixteen Stone album, Bush faded away from mega mainstream success. To most people,  Gavin Rossdale is now known as the husband of Gwen Stefani.  Most people who were Bush fans have moved on. Not my friend here. He sent me a message the day Rossdale’s new album was released. If he hadn’t, I wouldn’t have had a clue a new album was out.

I saw a facebook ad for Rossdale’s upcoming tour stop in my town and had to mention it.  He of course had already bought his ticket and was already getting ready for the show.  Over 1o years ago, he met Rossdale backstage when Bush was an arena act. He’s been a fan since. He could care less if Rossdale’s playing a small club now. He’s actually excited cause there’s a good chance he could have a beer with the guy before the show.

The point of this post is that hardcore fans stick around after the hype.  Maybe it was because he got to meet Rossdale when he was 15 years old or maybe the music just meant a lot to him. Whatever the case, an artist should feel privileged to have a fan so dedicated. If I were Rossdale now  and knew I had such fans, I’d personally invite them for a pre-show meet and greet.

Take Control of Your Music

Hoover

Bookmark and Share

The New Rockstar Philosophy

Sign Up For The New Rockstar Philosophy RSS Feed

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 7, 2009 7:49 pm

    Gavin Rossdale is amazing!

Leave a Reply

