Skip to content

Word of Mouth and Music Influencers

March 8, 2009

So I’m at a house party last night and end up having a long conversation about music with a drunk friend of a friend.

This guy is fanatical about music and loves being the guy who knows about a band before anyone else does. We agreed on a lot and disagreed on some, but he listed off bands I need to check out.

These were indie rock bands and for the most part, I’m pretty tired of most indie rock.  So why am I taking the time to check these bands out?

The guy was so damn enthusiastic about it. He wouldn’t let up about how great the music was. It was an intense enthusiasm you can’t ignore. I respected his music taste and I knew he was a hardcore music fan, so I already knew it wouldn’t be complete crap.

There are people like this all around. These are the people that are downloading indie playlists, are on top of the latest Pitchfork reviews, are the first to know about a band before they break, etc. They are people who need to be in the know and take pride in being music elitists. They love turning like-minded people on to their music. Others look to them for new music.

Getting your music heard and loved by one of these people can be huge.  If you can reach one, that influencer will spread the word, which could snowball when other influencers get hooked.

We all know word-of-mouth is the best kind of marketing. It just needs to get started by the right people.

Take Control of Your Music

Hoover

Bookmark and Share

The New Rockstar Philosophy

Sign Up For The New Rockstar Philosophy RSS Feed

Subscribe to The New Rockstar Philosophy by Email

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2009 5:36 pm

    I read every single thing you write here, and I just want to tell you that I love the way you think about music. Not only the quality of a record, but all the things that gravitate around.. It’s really interesting to fallow your reflexions, it makes me think about it in a diferent way too… Many blogs just write about music, gossips around music, but don’t take the entire thing, you know? Your blog is one of my favourite, so I hope you’ll continue!!! Sorry if you don’t understand what I mean (I’m french so…) Bye!!!

  2. March 9, 2009 6:20 pm

    Thanks Frederic!

  3. Troy permalink
    March 16, 2009 5:24 pm

    I’ve added the Rockstar Philosophy to my favourites for your excellent articulations of the modern music industry and the advancement in music marketing tools. This article in particular, speaks to the ways in which we discover music and I must say that the friend of a friend you’ve alluded to must be awesome.

    Music is the still the best thing going and listening, finding and discovering music is therapy.

  4. March 17, 2009 4:05 am

    hah, it’s the man himself.

    You should comment more.

Trackbacks

  1. Paying Your Dues « The New Rockstar Philosophy

Leave a Reply

