Skip to content

The Return of Blink 182

February 11, 2009

In case you haven’t heard, Blink 182 are back together.

Back in the day I was a huge fan but I didn’t even realize they got back together until I saw the burst in traffic to our blog post about them.

A lot of people are probably thinking, who cares?

At first I thought the same thing, but  then I did some digging to see people’s reactions.  On their myspace, tons of kids are incredibly stoked on their return. These kids were probably 6 years old when I first got into blink.

I started thinking about being 14 and seeing the “Dammit” video for the first time and being hooked. I biked over to the CD store (yes, they did exist), picked up the”Dude Ranch” album, came home and put it on. I remember being so stoked that every song ruled, not just the single. That whole album was pure pop punk bliss. I listened to it over and over again. I knew they were going to be huge.

They were immature, but it seemed authentic. I was a 14 year old immature preppy punk kid who really liked pop melodies. It was a perfect match.

I remember being so stoked for “Enema of the State”, scouring the internet for any samples from the new album (this was 1999).  Enema took them to Rockstar levels. Enema was again, consistently sweet throughout.  Every song could have been a single. Even better than Dude Ranch with Travis Barker behind the kit.

Even though they were so huge, I was still cool about being into them. They still had ties to their punk rock roots and brought  up and coming punk bands on tour.

So getting passed the nostalgia, the reason Blink 182 have fans that still care is because they were consistently great at what they did. They came from the punk scene, toured their asses off, wrote killer pop tunes, and made a mark.

Take Control of Your Music,

Hoover

Bookmark and Share

The New Rockstar Philosophy

Sign Up For The New Rockstar Philosophy RSS Feed

Subscribe to The New Rockstar Philosophy by Email

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2009 8:57 pm

    Hoover – you’re still an immature, preppy punk kid! Count me amongst the ‘who cares’ crowd. I sure was into them in high school as well, then I grew out of it but they just never seemed to.

  2. February 12, 2009 1:44 am

    They might of been immature but their last album wasn’t really, and if you haven’t heard it, you don’t really have a fair opinion on them.

  3. February 12, 2009 1:52 am

    JL,

    True indeed. Sometimes immaturity is bliss.

    Anyways, I think they will connect with a new generation of 14 year old kids. I probably will check out the new stuff to see where they try and take things. As Kaitis just mentioned, they were trying to explore on the last album.

  4. February 12, 2009 7:50 pm

    Calling blink immature is like calling darkness dark.

  5. February 12, 2009 11:20 pm

    Darkness. Daaarkness!

  6. Codyyy permalink
    February 19, 2009 7:24 pm

    this is a band that doesnt give a fuck about what people think and do what they do and guess what a billion people still listen tothem, better then the jonas brothers or katy perry, real music from a real band.

Leave a Reply

