Skip to content

Getting Up and Doing it

February 5, 2009

I love a good lesson; preferably an ancient wise text found by some zen master and interpreted to new heights. That’s the kind of lesson that I really love.

But listening to zen masters, ancient scrolls, and millions of pages of information will only get so far. There is nothing like experiencing these lessons for yourself.

So often as I troll the internet for some rare found tidbit of John Lennon’s wisdom, I forget that there is nothing that can teach me more, then actually getting up there and doing it.

Playing those shows, re-writing those songs, and jamming with the band should be more then just things you read about. You need to go for it daily. Whatever your “it” is, you need to go for it.

I know so many musicians who are caught up in the bullshit of trying to write a hit while obscuring their heart, or others, who are too far in the business end, leaving their art out to dry. In either case it’s ignoring the only thing that will gain you anything in our new music economy. The quality of your songs.

Go for it.

Take Control of Your Music,

Voyno

Bookmark and Share

The New Rockstar Philosophy

Sign Up For The New Rockstar Philosophy RSS Feed

Subscribe to The New Rockstar Philosophy by Email

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2009 1:10 pm

    This blog reminded me of the time I was watching “Lit” on MTV. Remember that band? Well I was cursing and screaming at the TV these guys suck I cant believe they have songs out yadda yadda yadda. Then I stopped myself and said “what the fuck are you doing?” At least they are putting themselves out there. What are you doing with your life and your songs?

    I realized just getting out of my own way was the lesson I still needed to learn.

    Go For IT! What’s the worse that could happen? Someone might actually listen to your song twice. : )

  2. February 5, 2009 5:02 pm

    Indeed sir. It’s like that Woody Allen quote “Half of life is just showing up” …. and Lit were not that bad.

  3. ludes permalink
    February 5, 2009 8:41 pm

    the best lesson i ever learned came from Lucy

  4. February 7, 2009 10:13 pm

    Charlie Brown or The Beatles ludes?

Leave a Reply

