Skip to content

New U2 Single is Out

January 20, 2009

I’m a U2 fan.

So when I got the email today telling me the new single was available to listen, I jumped on it. I had heard they were trying new things, so I wasn’t sure what to expect.

I hate to say it, but “Get Your Boots On” did nothing for me, but I’m not writing off the album yet, because I’m a fan of the band.  I know the album is probably already out on the torrents, but I am still going to buy it because I’m a fan.

I was also interested in what marketing ideas they would do to promote the album.  The last album was promoted a lot via the U2 Ipod, but I figured they’d try something similar to Radiohead this time around.

What they are doing is releasing the album in 5 formats.

1. CD

2. Vinyl

3. Digipack CD/Film Download/Poster

4. Magazine/Film Download/CD

5. Box Set-Booklet/CD/Film DVD/Poster

The last 3 offerings are limited edition. How many is limited? I don’t know.

At first glance I thought that may be alright, but given the hugeness of U2 and the amount of die-hard fans, those limited offers are pretty damn weak.

These limited edition offers aren’t even signed by the band?  Why isn’t there super cool deluxe vinyl edition out?  Why is there a magazine???  Why not a classy hard-cover book with handwritten notes from Bono as he explains the story behind each song?  Why isn’t there a Blue Ray documentary covering the last 10 years of the band leading up to this release, the last of the decade??

I love U2 and probably will continue to love the band even if this album is shit, but they can do better with the offerings, don’t you think?

Take Control of Your Music,

Hoover

Bookmark and Share

The New Rockstar Philosophy

Sign Up For The New Rockstar Philosophy RSS Feed

Subscribe to The New Rockstar Philosophy by Email

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2009 4:07 am

    Hey friends. Gotta say that I respectfully disagree with you, Hoov. Not on the tune mind you. I don’t not like it, but so far, yeah, it doesn’t really grab me. I need to listen to it 8 or 10 more times before I render a verdict. It may grow on me.

    Anyways, I disagree that the offerings are shitty. In fact, I think they are quite unique and awesome. You didn’t report that the ‘booklet’ that comes with the box set is hard cover and some 60 pages. Also, the DVD included in the box set (and in which is offered by download in the other two sets) is by one of rocks most influential artist and photographer – Anton Corbijn – who has had a tight artistic relationship with U2 (and many other great acts) going back at least as far as the Joshua Tree. While I don’t know much about the magazine offering, it’s quite lengthy as well and pretty cheap. I think around 30 bucks Canadian. Not bad for the new album, some reading, and a downloadable video that is likely to be pretty cool. And Blu-Ray? C’mon man. Still prohibitively expensive to produce, and not enough players out there.

    My take is that they have indeed taken as grand a step as Radiohead did – not in terms of distribution mind you, but in terms of mixed media and art: prose, music, video, photography. All in one reasonably priced package by the world’s biggest band.

    I defy you, sir.

  2. January 20, 2009 4:52 am

    U2 looks so old now. I’m not sure if its the fact that they look old or the fact that they are still dressing like they did in ’83 that depresses me more.

  3. January 20, 2009 5:35 am

    ok ok JL,

    The thing I was disappointed about was that they didn’t add anything really really cool. I was expecting them to go over the top, because that’s kind of what I expect when I hear a U2 album is coming out. They start the press train months in advance, so I was hoping for something really cool.

    The last album came with a DVD that was a bit of an album documentary. That was 12-14 bucks in….2004.

    They did a 3D concert in 2008

    and now this??

    The idea of mixing different art is cool indeed, but I think they could have done something better, more cutting edge.

    Something to really get people talking.

    -Hoover

  4. January 20, 2009 10:11 pm

    Very well sir, I think we are mature enough to accept that we have differing opinions on the matter.

    p.s. I hate you.

  5. January 21, 2009 10:20 pm

    Indeed good sir. Indeed.

    However,

    I do not wish to participate in any talk of hate
    as you see its fate, is destined to coagulate.
    Oh how I digress good mate. I will see you at 8.

  6. January 21, 2009 10:23 pm

    holy fuck, you just blew my mind!

  7. January 22, 2009 5:38 am

    Now, I was caught off guard a couple days ago to hear the announcement of the new single about to be played on the radio station I was checking out. Having no clue as to what to expect from their new material, and having not so great feelings about a couple U2 albums in the past – That being said, I’m still a HUGE fan of the Irishmen.
    And…
    I absolutely LOVE “Get Your Boots On”! They actually took me to a couple places (musically) I wasn’t expecting.
    This is one of the VERY few bands I could care less about aging, because they keep trying new stuff while sticking to U2’s “thing”. Would we want them to dress like most 40+ year-olds? Booo. At least they’re still connecting with young and old alike. Can’t be said about many aging rockers…

    On the packaging front, I don’t care much, as long as the version I DO buy, is in my hands soon.

    Thanks for the years, boys!!

Trackbacks

  1. Does Mainstream Music Still Exist? « The New Rockstar Philosophy

Leave a Reply

