Skip to content

Tom Petty: Runnin’ Down a Dream

December 20, 2008

After watching the Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers documentary/biography, Running Down a Dream, I found myself digging through a lot of his material…on YouTube.

It’s like rediscovering an artist you didn’t pay that much attention to when you were a younger. I always knew the guy was a great songwriter, but never really appreciated anything besides Free Fallin’, until this documentary.

One line in the song “Runnin’ Down a Dream” struck me as something worth writing about here at The New Rockstar Philosophy.

Here’s the line :

“Runnin’ down a dream, that would never come to me.”

It’s a simple line, but there’s a lot of truth there. You gotta go make stuff happen for yourself. No one’s going to come hand you your dream on a silver platter.

It’s more than just writing, recording, and hoping for the best.

Take Control of Your Music,

Hoover

Bookmark and Share

The New Rockstar Philosophy

Sign Up For The New Rockstar Philosophy RSS Feed

Subscribe to The New Rockstar Philosophy by Email

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2008 6:57 am

    Dude, I am so with you on the Petty discovery. For me it was a little different- I grew up as a young kid with Petty on the radio every time I turned it on and I basically ignored it as cheesy pop. But then I got the ‘Wildflowers’ record. That stopped me in my tracks. That’s a freakin masterpiece my friend – you should get it, put it on with some headphones and dig in (skip ‘You don’t know how it feels’ if you’d like though). There’s a reason Rick rubin won a grammy for the engineering on it.

    Then, even though I liked that record, a friend had to drag me to a show. Wow, was I impressed -WAAAAY better than I expected. Great show.

    Then, I got his greatest hit’s record and started listening to his songs from a songwriting/production perspective. Incredible. Unbelievably great songwriting, riffs, the B3 -they were really, really a great band. I haven’t paid too much attention to them the last few years, (that’s why I say ‘were’) but when you dig in as a musician you’ll see they are packed with quality music that will leave you asking, “How did I miss this when it was a #1 hit !?!”

  2. December 22, 2008 5:57 pm

    Thanks for the Wildflowers recommendation.

    I’m gonna have to check out several of his albums.

    Hoover

Leave a Reply

