Skip to content

Connecting With People: Brett Dennen

November 4, 2008

Brett Dennen 

So I check certain artists on myspace on a regular basis to see if there’s anything new. I never check official sites, because all I really need to know is already on myspace.  

Anyways, so I check Brett Dennen’s myspace every now and then since discovering him through John Mayer’s Myspace page. At first I didn’t dig his stuff, but he has this way of slowly oozing into you like many great artists.

One of his recent songs, “Aint Gonna Lose You” was recently placed on Grey’s Anatomy.  The song works perfectly with the current soundtrack of the show. It could work well in almost any dramatic-romantic scene.

It’s like Paul Simon singing a Tom Petty/Bruce Springsteen song. I could see it take Brett’s career further. 

The point is:

The song feels real and authentic. I can’t smell anything fake.  First time I heard it, I knew this song would would connect. It’s got soul.

I hope Brett does well with this song.

To all you emerging artists, be authentic and connect with people.

Take Control of Your Music,

Hoover

Bookmark and Share

The New Rockstar Philosophy

 Sign Up For The New Rockstar Philosophy RSS Feed

Subscribe to The New Rockstar Philosophy by Email

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2008 5:55 am

    I saw Guster live for free at University of Florida like a year ago, in some cool field, Brett Dennen opened for them, and i’ve pretty much been a fan since. Another great article!

  2. November 5, 2008 3:39 am

    Voyno introduced me to Guster this Summer. I have to say I’m not nearly as into their newer stuff.

Leave a Reply

