Skip to content

Reaching New Audiences with YouTube

November 3, 2008

I found this on digg.

I think it’s great fun. This style of guitar playing is something that I have been gravitating to recently. But what drew me to this article was not the guitar style but the song and the medium. It’s a cool YouTube cover of a classic, but still a cover.

My friend Amy and I have had heated debates over the validity of covers. Her angle is that a musician should be able to stand on her/his own music. Using covers is just a ploy. I disagree. I think covers, if done tastefully, can really help artists.

Which takes us to Adrian Holovaty. Adrian has recorded a number of great covers and posted them all on YouTube. Although he’s not a musician by profession, Adrian now has that option. He has expanded his fanbase tremendously via his YouTube Mario cover.

For me, YouTube is pretty much the only avenue where I would bother checking this out. I don’t have enough interest to Google some jazz guitarists name or the patience to wait for a horrible Myspace to load.

Oh and have you heard the news….YouTube just crossed the 5 BILLION STREAMS mark in September. I’ll say that again 5 BILLION STREAMS!!! Most Myspace artists don’t have even 50,000 streams.  So by cleverly using YouTube + a popular cover, Adrian is growing his fanbase and creating his career.

Whether you agree with Amy or you agree with me, the fact is that YouTube Covers get a lot of exposure. Use it to your advantage.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2008 2:42 am

    A decent article, but comparing the total streams of youtube to the streams of one Myspace artist is laughable.I’m sure the overall totals are pretty close. Even though most myspace artists have 50k plays, this video only has 30k, and i know you didn’t write this. Whoever did, didn’t make the best points and made Youtube out to be much more of a miracle worker than it is, based on the fact that they personally go there first to check music. Just makes me realize what quality writing I usually read here, it’ll just make the next post that much better.

    Wow, that was long.
    Keep kickin’ ass guys.
    -Kaitis.

  2. November 4, 2008 5:28 am

    Thanks for keepin us on our toes Kaitis. It’s good to know where your head is at!

    -peace,
    Voyno

  3. amyisanahole permalink
    November 10, 2008 3:22 am

    Wait… what did I say? Don’t do covers. Right. That guy wasn’t trying to “make it”. You understand? You are. Realistically there’s a time and a place for covers and that is during a night of tequilla and Karaoke. Honestly Matty, you guys don’t need covers do you? I get it it’s comfortable and you probably know cover tunes better than your own but I stand my ground covers are not always necessary.
    So to be clear, if you need em than do em and if you don’t than don’t.

    That’s it.
    Amy

Leave a Reply

