Skip to content

Going Beyond Music Placement: Sharon Little

October 16, 2008

So I was checking out some music sites (Idolator and Stereogum), and I kept seeing these ads for Sharon Little. I figured someone believes in her enough to promote her like this (advertising on those sites can’t be cheap). I wanted to see what’s up. Turn out she’s a bluesy type singer-song writer.

What interested me was that when I clicked on the link it took me to a video of her playing her single within a scene of a TV show (The Cleaner). Most of the time you hear new music being played in the background, but Sharon was actually part of the scene. It’s a combination of product placement and music to fit the mood of the scene. It’s been done before, but I thought it was interesting enough to write about.

CBS records (her label) is promoting it on their YouTube channel. It’s like a music video she got paid for to promote her single (instead of the other way around).

You may not have the manager or connections to get on a TV show like this, but I wanted to get you thinking of cost-effective ways to get your music heard.

Take Control of Your Music,

Hoover

Bookmark and Share

The New Rockstar Philosophy

Sign Up For The New Rockstar Philosophy RSS Feed

Subscribe to The New Rockstar Philosophy by Email

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

